The Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) constitution allows for up to 12 directors who are elected annually at PIAC’s Annual General Meeting. PIAC is a company limited by guarantee.

  • Rebecca Gilsenan

    Board member since May 2012

    Chair of PIAC Board.

    Rebecca Gilsenan is a Principal Lawyer in Maurice Blackburn’s class actions department. She has extensive experience in running complex and novel litigation, including class actions in the areas of price fixing, failed investment schemes, product liability and securities.

  • Eileen Baldry

    Board member since February 2015

    Professor Baldry is one of the country’s leading academics in the field of Criminology. In 2017 she was appointed Deputy Vice-Chancellor Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, at University of New South Wales. Eileen regularly chairs government committees and working groups, and appears as a witness in commission and government inquiries in relation to social justice issues.

  • Bob Debus

    Board member since November 2016

    Bob Debus was a member of NSW Parliament (1981-1988 and 1995-2007) and Federal Parliament (2007-2010). in the NSW Parliament, he served as Minister for Corrective Services (1995-2001), Minister for Emergency Services (1995-2003), Minister for Environment (1999-2007), Minister for Arts (2005-2007) and Attorney General (2000-2007). In the Commonwealth Parliament he held the position of Minister for Home Affairs. Before becoming a parliamentarian, Bob worked as a solicitor, editor and journalist.

  • Ian Farmer

    Board member since May 2017

    Ian has over 30 years experience as a practicing accountant and advisor, including 20 years as a Partner with PwC in a range of client serving and leadership roles. Ian is Chairman of Lifeline Northern Beaches, where he is a telephone crisis supporter, and a Director and Treasurer of CRC Ltd and the Sydney Drug Education and Counselling Centre.

  • Julie Foreman

    Board member since May 2018

    Julie is the Executive Officer of the Tenants’ Union. Julie has worked in the areas of Human Rights, Community Education and Community Management for over 25 years.

  • Kate Morgan SC

    Board member since November 2019

    Kate Morgan is a leading Sydney barrister who appears throughout numerous jurisdictions (civil and criminal) with a focus on regulatory matters. Her practice includes regulatory investigations and litigation, corporate and commercial litigation, class actions and general appellate matters. Before being called to the Bar, Kate practiced as an attorney in New York State, and as a solicitor at Mallesons Stephen Jacques and the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions.

  • John Walker

    Board member since February 2016

    John Walker is recognised as a leader in the emerging global litigation funding market. He is the managing Director of Investor Claim Partner Pty Ltd and ICP Capital Pty Ltd. John came to litigation funding more than twenty years ago after working in accounting and economics and practicing as a commercial litigator in Sydney.

  • Juliana Warner

    Board member since February 2019

    Juliana Warner is an experienced solicitor and the Sydney Office Managing Partner of Herbert Smith Freehills. She is the Junior Vice president of the NSW Law Society. Juliana has been involved in many leading cases, and has represented clients extensively in mediation, arbitration, regulatory investigations and inquiries and cross border matters involving foreign and international law.

Pin It on Pinterest